Departments > Planning

 Coos County Planning Director is Jill Rolfe      

Coos County Planning Department supports our community by promoting orderly growth, while protecting and enhancing the environment; and, conserving and stabilizing the value of property. The Planning Department is an agency of County government that provides information and assistance to the public in understanding the land use process as administered through the Coos County Land and Development Ordinance and the Coos County Comprehensive Plan. The planning program is managed under the guidance of the Board of Commissioners with the advice of the Planning Commission.


***There will be a work session for the Planning Commission on January 17, 2019 at 6:00 pm to discus the Housing Study.***


Due to the lack of adequate security and maintenance of abandoned and vacant properties in Coos County, there has been an increase in blight, crime and unsanitary conditions that are detrimental to the health, welfare, and safety of Coos County Residents. To address these issues, the Board of Commissioners adopted Ordinance No. 18-11-011L (the “Ordinance”) on November 20, 2018 to help remedy this issue.

For the further information and the registration form click here, this can also be under the Public Information Menu (to the left).

For the ordinance click here, this can also be found under the Public Information Menu (to the left).


The applications posted under the Planning Menu do not represent the applications that are currently being reviewed by staff.  The applications that are posted reflect the applications that are completed and required a notice of decision to be sent.  There are other ministerial reviews that staff works on as well as daily questions.  Applications and inquiries are processed in the order in which they are received.


Updates for Jordan Cove / Pacific Connector Gas Pipeline


Coos County Goal 16 Audit - Coos Bay Estuary Management Plan (CBEMP)


The Coos County Planning Department will now be accepting credit cards and electronic checks.

Prior to paying for your application online, you will need to consult with the Planning Department and obtain an application number.  This number is required in order to make a payment.  To submit a payment click the link below.

Click Here to Pay Online


State Building Codes Office is located in the Coos Bay City Hall

Phone number: 541-266-1098


Planning Commissioner

Originally Appointed

Term Expiration

Charlie Waterman May 21, 2003 June 30, 2019
Joann Hansen  November 26, 2003 June 30, 2020
Larry Scarborough June 30, 2011 June 30, 2019
Debby Darling July 29, 2014 June 30, 2018
Chris Hood March 28, 2017 June 30, 2020
Todd Goergen October 17, 2017 June 30, 2021
Kristi Pennington May 1, 2018 June 30, 2021
David Hammond May 1, 2018 June 30, 2021
Diana Schab November 6, 2018 June 30, 2021

Office Hours

Office Hours are:
8 AM -- 12 PM and 1 PM -- 5 PM;
Monday through Friday

Street Location:
225 N. Adams Street, Coquille, Oregon

Mailing Address: 
250 N. Baxter Street, Coquille, OR  97423

Ask the Planner!


Final - Coos County Transportation System Plan
Click below to